One Book, One Halton Hills 2024

The Mystery Guest by Nita Prose

Our latest One Book, One Halton Hills title is here! Borrow a copy from the library to read yourself or borrow a book club set to read with others. Reserve your copy of The Mystery Guest through our catalogue.


An Evening with Nita Prose  

Join best-selling author Nita Prose as she reveals family secrets and unravels complicated relationships! A book signing follows with the author. Copies of The Mystery Guest and The Maid are available for purchase at the library.  

Subscribe to this page (green button below) for more exclusive One Book, One Halton Hills programs! 


From the Publisher

The mystery guest book cover
A new mess. A new mystery. It’s up to Molly the maid to uncover the truth, no matter how dirty, in this standalone novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maid, a Good Morning America Book Club pick.

Molly Gray is not like anyone else. With her flair for cleaning and proper etiquette, she has risen through the ranks of the glorious five-star Regency Grand Hotel to become the esteemed Head Maid. But just as her life reaches a pinnacle state of perfection, her world is turned upside down when J.D. Grimthorpe, the world-renowned mystery author, drops dead—very dead—on the hotel’s tearoom floor.

When Detective Stark, Molly's old foe, investigates the author’s unexpected demise, it becomes clear that this death was murder most foul. Suspects abound, and everyone wants to know: Who killed J.D. Grimthorpe? Was it Lily, the new Maid-in-Training? Or was it Serena, the author’s secretary? Could Mr. Preston, the hotel’s beloved doorman, be hiding something? And is Molly really as innocent as she seems?

As the case threatens the hotel’s pristine reputation, Molly knows that she alone holds the key to unlocking the killer’s identity. But that key is buried deep in her past—because long ago, she knew J.D. Grimthorpe. Molly must comb her memory for clues and revisit her childhood and the mysterious Grimthorpe mansion where her dearly departed Gran once worked. With Molly and her colleagues under investigation, she knows she must solve the mystery post-haste. And if there’s one thing she knows for sure, it's that dirty secrets don’t stay buried forever...

About the One Book, One Halton Hills program 

The Halton Hills Public Library's One Book, One Halton Hills program began in 2011 as a way to encourage reading throughout the community. The aim of the program is to have everyone read the same book once each year, creating a town-wide book club. A wide range of programs are also planned to complement the themes of each year’s book selection, including an evening with the author. 

Discover One Book, One Halton Hills titles from previous years.